The Fair Housing Act


What is the Fair Housing Act?

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians, pregnant women, and people securing custody of children under the age of 18), and disability.

Who is Protected?

The Fair Housing Act prohibits housing discrimination because of Race, Color, Religion, Sex, Disability, National Origin or Familial Status (families with children). 

Prohibited Actions

The following actions, if based on a consumer's association with one or more of the protected classes listed above, are prohibited:

  • Refusal to rent or sell or negotiate for housing 
  • Making housing unavailable 
  • Denial of a dwelling 
  • Setting different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
  • Providing different housing services or facilities
  • Falsely denying that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental 
  • Denial of access to or membership in a facility or service related to the sale or rental of housing 
  • Steering prospective tenants to a certain neighborhood, development or unit 
  • Refusal to make a mortgage loan or provide information regarding loan 
  • Imposing different terms or conditions on a loan 
  • Discrimination in appraising property 
  • Refusal to purchase a loan 
  • Setting different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan